Ultimate Sugar Cookies

Ever heard of the game Catan? If you have, GREAT! If you haven’t, don’t ask me to explain it. I’ve only watched it be played. When I’m not watching it, I occasionally hear name calling. My husband and his friends try to have Catan game nights a couple times a month. They had not played in a while, so I figured I’d make their sweet reunion even sweeter with some Catan themed sugar cookies!

These sugar cookies are honestly the best I’ve ever had. They are soft, fluffy, and moist! Add some icing and I’m pretty they become the best thing ever. (For the record, they taste pretty dang awesome without icing, but who the heck doesn’t want icing on a sugar cookie?) Ok! Let’s get this ball rolling!

First, I need to make sure I have everything!

Cute apron (optional!)? šŸ™‚ Check!

Cupcake Measuring cups? Check!

051

Cute Helpers? Check!

037

Ingredients? Check!

036

Let’s begin!

You are going to cream together the sugar and the shortening. Once it is well blended, we will add our eggs, syrup, and vanilla! Beat until those are well blended and the mixture is fluffy.

Next, combine the 3 cups of flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

040

Gradually add the dry mixture to the creamed mixture at a low speed. The end result should look like this:

041

Divide into 4 equal parts. I needed some well-defined cookie edges, so I wrapped mine in plastic wrap and stuck them in the fridge for an hour. I suggest doing this method if your mixture is too sticky or too soft.

043

During that hour, you can do the following (which are all completely optional):

  • clean your mess
  • clean up the pieces of biscuits (we had biscuits with breakfast) that your little helpers have stolen from the kitchen table and have managed to make a mess of in parts of your living room
  • snuggle with your little helpers
  • put on cartoons to distract your little helpers so you can go to the bathroom
  • put on make up so you can take a selfie with your little helpers and post it to Instagram

pic

The hour is up! Preheat your oven to 375 degrees, get your dough, and let’s start rolling!

Use one tablespoon of flour the 4 that you have set aside and sprinkle your surface with it. Make sure you rub some on top of the cookie dough and on your rolling pin to prevent sticking. Roll out your cookie dough to 1/4 inch thickness. Use your cookie cutter (i’ll be using a hexagon shape to make the Catan pieces). Place them on your cookie sheet 2 inches apart (I do spray a baking spray on the sheet), place them in the oven for 5-9 minutes. Make sure not to over bake!

067

I place foil on my counter to use to cool the cookies.

071

With the extra dough, I made one really big cookie for my little helpers to decorate! Here it is (before it was baked)!

070

Now you can decorate as you please. I’m using the following colors and pieces:

045

The only color not pictured is brown. My husband had to go to the store to pick some chocolate frosting up for me to use. I found these eye candies that I used to put the numbers on (as pictured on the cookies below). I just used the back of the candies.

After all the decorating is done, this was my end result:

083

It’s not the best, but everyone loved it and they tasted AMAZING!

086

Here is the recipe:

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

1 Butter Flavor CRISCO Stick or 1 cup of Butter Flavor CRISCO shortening

2 eggs

1/4 cup light corn syrup or regular pancake syrup

1 tablespoon vanilla

3 cups plus 4 tablespoons of all-purpose flour, divided

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Decorations of your choice

  1. Combine sugar and shortening until well blended. Add eggs, syrup, and vanilla. Mix together until mixture is fluffy.
  2. Combine 3 cups of flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Gradually add to the creamed mixture at a low speed. Divide dough into 4 parts.
  3. Heat oven to 375 degrees. Place one tablespoon of flour on the surface where you will be rolling out your dough. Roll it out to 1/4 inch thick. Cut out cookies and place on greased baking sheet 2 inches apart.
  4. Bake 5-9 minutes, depending on size of the cookies. Let cool for 2 minutes on baking sheet. Remove cookies and place them on a cooling rack or foil to cool completely. Decorate as desired.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

